A Family Affair - Mary Campisi

A Family Affair

By Mary Campisi

  • Release Date: 2012-07-12
  • Genre: Contemporary
Score: 4
From 75 Ratings

You must SIGN UP to Read or Download A Family Affair for FREE by Click button Below

Read Free Download Free


Real families aren’t always the ones you know about…

A Family Affair is where it all began...Heartache, Betrayal, Forgiveness, Redemption...all wrapped up in the people you will love to love, and those you will love to hate!

When Christine Blacksworth’s larger-than-life father is killed on an icy road in Magdalena, New York, a hundred miles from the “getaway” cabin he visited every month, she discovers a secret that threatens everything she’s always held to be true. Her father has another family that includes a mistress and a daughter. 

Determined to uncover the truth behind her father’s secret life, Christine heads to Magdalena, prepared to hate the people who have caused her to question everything she thought she knew about her father. But what she finds is a woman who understands her, a half sister who cherishes her, and a man who could love her if she’ll let him. The longer she’s around them, the more she questions which family is the real one.

Truth In Lies Series:
Book One: A Family Affair
Book Two: A Family Affair: Spring
Book Three: A Family Affair: Summer
Book Four: A Family Affair: Fall
Book Five: A Family Affair: Christmas, a novella
Book Six: A Family Affair: Winter
Book Seven: A Family Affair: The Promise
Book Eight: A Family Affair: The Secret
Book Nine: A Family Affair: The Wish
Book Ten: A Family Affair: The Gift
Book Eleven: A Family Affair: The Weddings
Book Twelve: A Family Affair: The Cabin, a novella
Book Thirteen: A Family Affair: The Return
Book Fourteen: A Family Affair: The Choice
Book Fifteen: A Family Affair: The Proposal
Book Sixteen: A Family Affair: Bonus Scenes
Book Seventeen: A Family Affair: The Homecoming
Book Eighteen: A Family Affair: The Decision
Meals From Magdalena, A Family Affair Cookbook

 If you love to read about second chances, don’t miss:

That Second Chance Series: 
Book One: Pulling Home – (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Promise)
Book Two: The Way They Were – (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Secret)
Book Three: Simple Riches – (Also prequel to A Family Affair: Winter)
Book Four: Paradise Found – (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Wish)
Book Five: Not Your Everyday Housewife (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Gift)
Book Six: The Butterfly Garden (Also prequel to A Family Affair: The Return)

Bonus: An Excerpt from A Family Affair Spring, Book Two at the end of this book.

Attention Book Clubs!  Go to: https://marycampisi.com/books/truth-in-lies/a-family-affair/book-club-discussion-questions-for-a-family-affair/ for a Book Club Discussion Guide for A Family Affair. This story is filled with moral ambiguity, difficult choices, and second chances—all great topics for conversation and contemplation.

Some readers’ comments: 
“I loved this book and the writer so much! What an amazing story of second chances and hope for a new start!!” - Holly.Nelson - Jan 27, 2019

“What a great read! It’s the best captivating book I’ve read in a long while. Some points were predictable but non the less an amazing page turner. Can’t wait to start the next book!” - A non reader review - Aug 5, 2018

“The main characters are unforgettable…Uncle Harry is a hoot!” - H for Happy - Dec 9, 2017


  • Chick Lit Romance Novel (review contains spoilers)

    By Revere47
    I bought the audio book because it was reasonably priced and was unaware that it is a romance novel, my least favorite genre. (And I’m a chick) Nor did I know it was a series, much like a soap opera. This book is the first in the series. The event which propels the plot is the death of Charles Blackworth, a rich Chicago investment guy. He is killed in a car accident in New York, where he went once a month for the fourteen years prior to his death to unwind at a cabin in the Catskills. (Or so his family in Chicago thought!) In his will he leaves one-third of his estate to a Lily Desantro. Charles’s grown daughter, Christine, travels to NY to find out who Lily Desantro is. In NY, Christine learns that her father had another relationship with a woman named Miriam, and Lily is their thirteen-year-old down-syndrome daughter. Miriam, Lily, and Miriam’s much older son. Nate, from her first marriage, live a peaceful, ordinary, blue-collar life in a town called Magdalena. Miriam bakes a lot and cooks hearty dishes like beef vegetable soup. Lily is a sweet child, and Nate is an angry thirty something guy who hated Christine’s father. Christine is shocked, of course, because her father turned out not to be the man she thought he was. Christine is the plot conduit between her rich family in Chicago and her father’s other family in Magdalena. In Chicago, Christine’s mother, Gloria, is the opposite of Miriam. Gloria is scheming and nasty and has never baked or cooked and wants to keep Christine close so she doesn’t lose her to the hicks in Magdalena, the same way she lost her husband. And there is Christine’s Uncle Harry, Charles’s ne’r-do-well brother, a crass and unlikeable man, who drinks like a fish, lives off the family money, screws every woman he can, hates Gloria and loves Christine. My biggest problems with the book are that: one, the characters are cliche...the rich city folks (except for Christine) are unpleasant, unhappy, and care about nobody but themselves, and the simple, blue-collar small town characters are homespun, down-to-earth, and care for each other. two, the prose is incredibly purple. However, I did finish the book. And I liked the portrayal of Lily, the character with down-syndrome, who is perhaps the most well rounded character of the book. And the author throws in a few explicit sex scenes, which should please some readers. I won’t be reading any other books in the series since the genre isn’t one I like. However, if you’re into soap operas or serial shows like Dallas and pounding crotches and hard cocks, this series may be for you.